top of page


The Utah Women in Higher Education Network (UWHEN) was formally established in September 2010 to serve as Utah’s state network to the national American Council on Education (ACE) Women’s Network. Founded by Dr. Susan Madsen and with the support of the Utah Valley University President (President Matthew Holland), the organization adopted the ACE Women’s Network’s mission. This shared mission drives UWHEN initiatives to advance women’s leadership on higher education campuses. The mission fulfilled through:

  • Identifying women leaders.

  • Developing women’s leadership abilities.

  • Encouraging the use of leadership abilities.

  • Advancing women’s careers.

  • Linking women to other women and mentors.

  • Supporting women in mid- and executive-level positions.

A volunteer Board of Directors and officers lead UWHEN in conjunction with the mentorship provided by a Presidential Sponsor.

Presidential Sponsors

  • 2023- present   Dr. Brad L. Mortensen, Weber State University       

  • 2020-2023         Dr. Astrid Tuminez, Utah Valley University

  • 2017-2020         Dr. Richard (Biff) Williams, Dixie State University

  • 2014-2017         Dr. Deneece Huftalin, Salt Lake Community College

  • 2011-2014         Dr. Matthew Holland, Utah Valley University


UWHEN Board & Utah ACE Women’s Network Chairs


  • 2023-2024        Dr. Tasha C. Toy, Utah Tech University (formerly Dixie State University)

  • 2022-2023        Dr. Debbie Tahmassebi, Westminster University

  • 2021-2022        Ms. Teri L. Bladen, Weber State University

  • 2020-2021        Ms. Angie Walker,  Salt Lake Community College

  • 2019-2020        Ms. Mary Ann Berzins,  University of Utah

  • 2018-2019        Dr. Carole Grady, Utah State University

  • 2017-2018        Ms. Anjali Pai, Salt Lake Community College

  • 2016-2017       Dr. Jessica Egbert, Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions

  • 2015-2016        Ms. Mary Anne Berzins, University of Utah

  • 2014-2015        Ms. Shirlayne Quayle, Dixie State University

  • 2013-2014        Ms. Kathie Debenham, Utah Valley University

  • 2010-2013        Dr. Susan Madsen, Utah Valley University

bottom of page